The New Zealand Rainbow Excellence Awards

2019 Finalists Announced

See the 2019 New Zealand Rainbow Excellence Awards Finalists.
See the 2019 Awards Winners.

Join us for New Zealand Rainbow Excellence Awards in May 2019, venue and dates TBC, celebrating:

  • workplace leadership,
  • innovation,
  • best practice and
  • collaboration.

Our annual awards programme brings all current and aspiring Rainbow Tick organisations together to showcase best practice and celebrate outstanding progress as we continue to strive towards a more inclusive community of workplaces in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The Awards lunch follows the morning Development Forum (separately ticketed event) focused on knowledge sharing, learning and collaboration to improve Rainbow Inclusion across New Zealand.

Note: Ticket price includes lunch and all alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages.

Award Categories (to be reviewed for 2020)

Awards are open to all organisations and companies in New Zealand.

Entries for 2020 Awards to be opened in early 2020.

The awards are designed to recognise organisations that understand, value and welcome sexual and gender diversity.

The awards seek to celebrate:

  • strong leadership across organisations, from the executive through to that remarkable employee who rises to the occasion
  • initiatives that address ongoing challenges and make a measurable difference
  • dynamic, aspirational and brave shifts in practice
  • purposeful and confident public visibility
  • breadth and depth of organisational commitment and impact

The Newmarket Business Association Executive Leadership Award

(Award open to Rainbow Tick Certified organisations only, Special Commendation open to all)

The Newmarket Business Association Executive Leadership Award recognises genuine ownership, accountability, and drive from the top level(s) within the organisation.

SKYCITY Community and Advocacy Award

The SKYCITY Community and Advocacy Award recognises outward public commitment to community group(s).

Ambassadorship Award

The Ambassadorship Award recognises internal heroes and role models in formal or informal leadership roles who are actively driving improvements with rainbow inclusion

Simpson Grierson Impact Award (Program, Policy, Practice)

The Simpson Grierson Impact Award (Program, Policy, Practice) recognises an organisation or initiative that has tackled a particular issue or opportunity and can demonstrate measurable improvement in rainbow inclusion and wellbeing on a sustained basis

Training and Development Award

The Training and Development Award recognises training and development initiatives within organisations to improve rainbow inclusion

Lion Innovation Award

The Lion Innovation Award recognises a program, policy, or practice that shows the willingness to try something new and bold, adapted to the unique organisational context, with measures for monitoring progress.

Partners Life Emerging Award

The Partners Life Emerging Award recognises organisations who are early in their diversity and inclusion journey, but have taken steps to clearly signal their commitment to rainbow inclusion in one or more facets of their organisation

Westpac Supreme Award

(Award open to Rainbow Tick Certified organisations only)
The Westpac Supreme Award recognises organisations that have demonstrated wide-ranging programs, policy, and practices across the organisation, both top down and bottom up that are making a measurable impact across the organisation and set a new standard and example for others to follow with rainbow inclusion. Organisations at this level are actively sharing with and leading other organisations

How to enter

Entries for 2020 to open early 2020.

The process for entering the awards is designed to be simple and to allow for diverse applications from organisations of any size.

  • applications must be completed online.
  • applications are open from approximately 15 February 2020 until 5 April 2020 (TBC)
  • applications costs $200 plus GST per organisation or company entry (an organisation can enter multiple categories per application) (CHarities and not-for-profits are free)
  • organisations self-nominate/apply and craft their award entry for the specific category(s) of that best showcase their organisation’s progress (see below for all categories)
  • awards for individuals must be entered by an organisation who nominate an individual employee and provide supporting evidence

Entries are required to provide a high-level summary of their application, plus supporting material and should include details on (but not exclusive to):

  • an identified organisational "Rainbow" challenge
  • a clear strategy or plan related to the challenge
  • measurable achievements and impact report/assessment
  • clarification of and evidence for sustainable implementation

Core entry benchmarks

The core benchmarks to be considered for an award align with the Rainbow Tick Certification Framework, which assesses whether a workplace understands, values and welcomes sexual and gender diversity.

Rainbow inclusion competencies which are relevant to being considered in most categories are:

• Policy
• Staff training
• Staff engagement and organisational support
• External engagement
• Client / customer engagement
• Monitoring
• Other

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Will there be guaranteed space at the awards for representatives of finalist to attend the awards.
A: Yes, we have pre-allocated seating to ensure our finalist can attend the awards.
Q: Can I book a table and if so, how many seats are there at the table?
A: Yes, tables will be for sale through our ticketing portal and seat 10 people.
Q: Do I have to attend the awards to receive an award?
A: No. You will be notified that you are a finalist in advance, and naturally we would love to have you attend, but understand that this may not always be possible.
Q: Will finalists have to pay for entry to the awards lunch.
A: Yes.
Q: When do applications close?
A: Applications close 5 April 2020. (TBC)
Q: When will judging take place?
A: Judging will take place 5 April – 21 April. (TBC)
Q: Can I/we enter an award in a category our organisation is sponsoring?
A: No, you cannot enter an award category if your organisation is sponsoring this category. You we welcome to submit under another category, and you will still be eligible for the supreme award.
Q: Can I/we enter an award in a category where someone from our organisation is judging?
A: Yes, your organisation’s representative will be excluded from judging that category.
Q: When will finalists be notified?
A: Finalist will be announced late April. Finalist will be informed directly prior to public announcements being made.
Q: Can I nominate another company/organisation/ individual for an award?
A: No, as this is celebrating Rainbow Excellence within New Zealand organisations, the entry must be from within your organisation with supporting material.
Q: Is their any support for charities or not-for-profits to enter the Awards
A: Yes. When an organisation enters, there is no fee charged for their entry. Charities and not-for-profits will not be invoiced for entries and their entries will be covered by the support of Pride Pledge organisations. Tickets to The Awards ceremony are not covered.
Q: If my organsiation won a category in 2019, can we enter the same category for 2020
A:Unfortunately no, but we do encourage your organisaition to enter a different category and see how well you can stack up against other organsiations in a new area of challenge.